Since coming to Boston University, I’ve been focused on school work and not much of anything else. And by school work, I mean Netflix. So, I had a few movies I knew I wanted to watch over the break since I would have more time to focus, relax, and enjoy. One of the first movies I watched (which actually came from Redbox, which is a thing I guess,) was Safety Not Guaranteed. This indie flick was actually… pretty great. Sure, there were audio deficiencies in some places and the cinematography wasn’t perfect, but the actors Mark Duplass (The League, Hump Day) and Aubrey Plaza (Parks and Recreation) had real character. Anyway, this post isn’t about a movie review. While it was good (and you should go see it,) the main point is that I discovered Mark Duplass’ music talent. The first song I heard was directly from the movie.

Big Machine by Mark Duplass
He calls it a zither, but it is actually a dulcimer. I want a dulcimer.

Pretty great, right? He has too great of a voice to be wasted! He must have other projects. Well, yes, he does. He has a solo project. It is awesome. But what else? Oh, a band? Yes, a band. Volcano, I’m Still Excited!! is the name and awesome music is the game. While the band is not extinct, they are on a break due to Mark hurting his voice on tour. But hey, Craig Montoro, the guitarist, plays for Sufjan Stevens, so that’s something.

Image

My description sucks. Here is one that doesn’t:

Through the use of a keyboard, a guitar, and a double bass drum (but no bass), the three members of Volcano, I’m Still Excited!! deftly compose unconventional, yet catchy pop songs–throw in a dash of Elvis Costello, Jonathon Richman, and a mix of Spoon and you’ll begin to get the idea. Their must-see live performances include songs in rounds, sweatbands, aerobic workouts, and any other impromptu device that further draws the crowd into their performances. And the name? Some say it’s a tribute to Tom Hanks’ Joe Versus the Volcano, others say it’s some sort of bizarre mantra/rallying cry, others say it’s a merely a random stream of consciousness phrase. Either way, Volcano, I’m Still Excited!!’s style is all their own and their rise to existence is as unusual as their non-sequitur name.

Image

Enjoy the soothing sounds of Mark Duplass and the band Volcano, I’m Still Excited!!.

Trunk of my Car by Volcano, I’m Still Excited!!

In Green by Volcano, I’m Still Excited.

Join the conversation! 1 Comment

  1. [...] posted about Mark Duplass before here. There isn’t much to say, other than sometimes you get unexpected sounds from unexpected [...]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

About dalewholivesatbu

Hey everyone! My name is Dale, I am currently a freshman at Boston University studying Film and Television Production in the College of Communications and I am proud to work to BU Central. I love to write and hope to go into screenwriting. At BU Central, you'll either see me working on homework, writing something up, or playing games with everyone else. I love people and hanging out, and I also like to think I am somewhat funny so hey, keep me around! I am open to almost every type of music, though my favorites are Indie and Rock. You'll be hearing a lot of songs you've never heard before with me around! Feel free to request whatever you would like, though, because I always like to hear songs I've never heard of before, too. We have a lot of great stuff coming this year, so make sure you follow us on twitter and Facebook, as well as check out our blog every now and again! P.S. Pro tips by Dale: My username is Dale Who Lives At BU, much similar to Jeff Who Lives At Home. Many people think I look like Jason Segal, which is a blessing... and a curse. It is still a lot of fun to fantasize about becoming Marvin Wait For It Eriksen.

Category

Uncategorized

Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,