Yes, I am still a part of the dying breed that pays attention to Grammy Nominations and gets infuriated when they continue to nominate artists based on catchy hooks over true talent. I should be used to it by now, but I think that my old age is starting to get to me and I just want something to rant about (I’m only 20, by the way). Surprisingly, I was pretty content with this year’s nominations like The Black Keys, The Lumineers, Frank Ocean (we all know how I feel about him already), Miguel, and Alabama Shakes, just to name a few. Below are a few videos from these lovely Grammy nominees.

Moving on to the nominations that I don’t like. There were only a few this year, but here they are:

  • Record of the Year: We Are Never Ever Getting Back Together by Taylor Swift – My comment: How about we are never ever giving you another Grammy?
  • Song of the Year: Call Me Maybe by Carly Rae Jepsen – My comment: Yeah, yeah, yeah. This was the anthem of your summer, but compared to the other nominees is it Grammy worthy?
  • Best Rap Performance: HYFR by Drake featuring Lil’ Wayne (aka Tunechi aka Weezy aka Weezy F. Baby, etc.) – My comment: Out of all the songs on Take Care, why on earth would they pick this one?

Sigh, I miss the days when a Grammy meant something more than a dance-y beat. Let’s hope that the best man/woman/band/duo wins! Talent over a catchy hook all day everyday.

Lonely Boy – The Black Keys

Adorn – Miguel

Hold On – Alabama Shakes

PS, good luck with finals and happy holidays!

Leave a Reply

Category

Uncategorized