January 29, 2013

Music and memory

Remember that one artist or band that you heard when you were younger and you thought you’d never heard anyone so cool? How you spent the next few hours, few days, few weeks listening to their music and trying to memorize every single lyric? How you tried to learn as much as you could about them and wished you could just be friends? Of course, there are still the occasional musicians that come along, but I always feel like I’ll never be as starstruck by a singer as I was with Lily Allen.

I was first introduced to Lily Allen and her music when she sang on SNL in 2007. My mom had just started letting me watch SNL with her and it was the first time that I had ever “discovered” a singer that I liked that I hadn’t heard on the radio. I rushed to my room, sat down at my big desktop computer and looked her up on iTunes. And that’s the story of how I became a Lily Allen fan.

Now, whenever I listen to one of her songs–namely Smile and LDN–I’m swept back to the moments I spent sitting at my computer, singing along to her songs and scrolling through her fan sites. There are other songs that do the same, mind you, not just Lily Allen’s, like Don’t Cha by the Pussycat Dolls or What’s Luv by Fat Joe, but right now I’m just talking about Lily Allen. She may not be relevant anymore, and she may no longer be making music (at the moment, at least) but I still enjoy her music and I hope you do too!

Smile



LDN



Alfie



Not Fair



Fuck You



Knock ‘Em Out



Naive Cover (by the Kooks)



The Fear


Happy listening!

Emily

Leave a Reply

About emilyrockwood

Hi! I'm a freshman at BU and I'm in CAS studying biology. I like pretty much any type of music, with the exception of heavy metal and country. I love watching horror movies, my favorite flowers are white lilies, and if I could be any animal, I'd be a cat.

Category

Uncategorized

Tags

, ,