September 23, 2010

It’s Stuck-In-Your-Head Week!

Hello, blog-readers!

So lately, I’ve been especially into folksy-ish music (‘folksy-ish’ is now a genre) so I suppose I’ll let you all know what’s been stuck in my head for the past few weeks.

Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeros, in my opinon, are pretty much as folksy-ish as you can get, and they are glorious.  “Home” is probably one of their better-known songs; my favorite version is this totally off-the-cuff live performance they did outside the Fillmore in San Francisco.  A warning before you proceed: This will get stuck in your head.  You will be singing it all day. And you will love every minute of it.  Anyways, the link is to the full 10-minute version, and the video embedded here is the short version I found on youtube (the long one is crazyamazing):

Original version from La Blogotheque: http://www.blogotheque.net/Edward-Sharpe-and-the-Magnetic

Quickie version:

A little less folksy-ish (man, that is hard to type) but still quite awesome is Noah and the Whale.  “5 Years Time” is upbeat and a very good folding-laundry song.  The whistly part at the beginning is really fun, so if you can whistle, I highly suggest making this a whistle-/sing-along.

And they aren’t folksy (so much as ridiculous), but I do love me some Flight of the Conchords.  To all you readers taking a French class: you’re welcome.

That’s it for this week…have a great weekend!

-Reese

Leave a Reply

Category

Uncategorized

Tags

, ,