November 19, 2010

We Are the World

[tweetmeme source=“bucentral” only_single=false]

HI FRIENDS!

Welcome to the latest installment of WORLD MUSIC BLOG FUN TIMES!!!

Since coming to Boston University I have met so many amazing people from all over the world. My group of friends alone is a microcosm of Boston and BU and it represents the incredible diversity of both. Recently I have been really appreciating the awesome fact that these individuals can have such different origins yet can come together and connect at such an intrinsic level. I love all my friends because we are so compatible. And I love all my friends because they are all infinitely enriching.. and each in completely their own ways.

Basically what I’m trying to say is that I find it so fascinating that a group of people can come from such contrasting beginnings but ultimately have the same mind-set. How? Convergent psycho-evolution? Does that even exist? Maybe I should talk to one of my Philosophy/ Anthropology professors about it.. but anyways, this weeks blog is a shout out to all my beautiful friends from all over the world. Here are some songs from their countries of origin 🙂

Yay for friends! and music! and places!

 

GERMANY

Better Tomorrow- Last Goodbye

CUBA

Buena Vista Social Club- Chan Chan

This video is taken from an awesome movie about the music and culture of Cuba. Watch it. I swear you will fall in love with the adorable old men who smoke fatties and live for their music.

ISRAEL

I think I’ve posted some Asaf Avidan before but HERE IT AGAIN! This band is just beautiful.

Asaf Avidan- Her Lies

FRANCE

Mmmmm

Break Bot- I’m Yours

That’s all for now kids!

 

GET GROOOOOVY GUYS!!

Much love, Abby!

 

WORLD MUSIC NIGHT! DECEMBER 2ND! 8:00P.M.! TELLLLL YOOUUUURR FRIIEEENDSS!!!

Leave a Reply

Latest Posts By Abby

Category

Uncategorized

Tags

, , , , , , , ,