[tweetmeme source=”bucentral” only_single=false]

Remember the other week when I posted the videos from the Mumford and Sons concert? And I was trashing a bit on King Charles and his tight shiny pants and his shiny shoes? Yeah, well, the song I posted was kind of meh, and in spite of his eccentricity of dress, he’s actually good.  So here’s “Love Lust”. Try to get it out of your head. I dare you. He’s worth listening to, and “Love Lust” is definitely a good de-stress-during-finals-week song.

I haven’t yet posted any poetry, which is surprising, because I really like poetry.  Billy Collins

Billy Collins!

is one of the best in terms of contemporary written word poetry (he was the US poet laureate, after all); it’s accessible but poignant, and his irony gets a few laughs from the audience (these tracks are from a live recording). Don’t be fooled by his semi-monotone, he’s actually good.  Listen to the images. BE INSPIRED.

“Monday”

“The Trouble with Poetry”

And obviously no post with poetry is complete without Andrea Gibson.  Basically, she’s awesome.  I’m obsessed with her.

I would put a picture of us together but there aren't any where I don't look like a five year old who has just gotten a pony from Santa.

Only minorly obsessed (ha). She’s a four-time Denver Grand Slam Champion, a fourth place finisher at the 2004 National Poetry Slam, and she finished third at both the 2006 and 2007 Individual World Poetry Slam. Also, she was the first poet ever to win the Women of the World Poetry Slam in 2008. She’s also a regular at the Bowery Poetry Club in NYC, and the cool part is that she uses music in a lot of her poetry.  I’ve seen her eight times (the ninth will be this March)…I think that kind of sums it up.  Without further ado, Andrea Gibson:

“Say Yes” (an intense):

“Swing Set (Live)” (a funny which is doubly awesome because she quotes Taylor Mali [another poet]):

There’s a little taste.  She’s amazingly visual and also amazingly everything else.  I’ll post more next week.

Happy finals week! Good luck =)

-Reese

Join the conversation! 2 Comments

  1. Just had time to listen to Monday. What a wonderful mind, and what amazing delivery. Thanks! You have taught me something entirely new….do you know where I can get these recordings online?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Category

Uncategorized

Tags

, , , , , , , , ,