[tweetmeme source=”bucentral” only_single=false]

Judging by the frequency of tweets and Facebook updates regarding the calamitous state of the terrible outdoors, I think we’re all in need of some pick-me-ups.  It is Groundhog Day, after all, and according to our friends down at Gobbler’s Knob in Punxsutawney, PA, spring is coming soon! However, for anyone who is unfamiliar with New England weather “patterns” (I use that term loosely as there really aren’t any), spring entails basically what we have outside right now, kicked up 35 or 40 degrees. All sarcasm aside, let’s get down to it:

Last weekend=Decemberists at the House of Blues.
Set list:
July, July!
Down by the Water
Rox in the Box [Can somebody please explain these lyrics? I don’t get them.]
All Arise!
Won’t Want for Love
The Engine Driver
The Soldiering Life
This is Why We Fight
The Rake’s Song
O Valencia!
The Chimbley Sweep
A Cautionary Song
June Hymn

I’m not gonna lie, on the whole, the concert was just whelming.  Not over-, not under-, just whelming. It was kind of short.  But it was, at the same time, pretty great just to be seeing them live.  I’m posting five videos below–one of the best parts of the show was the crowd’s energy and how utterly devoted everyone seemed, and I think it comes through, especially (as you’ll be able to hear) because everyone sang along to almost every song (apologizing in advance…don’t judge).  Also something totally awesome was when some of them came into the audience OHMYGOD during “A Cautionary Song” (which, by the way, is one of their funniest).  In addition to the videos, I’m also posting “The Rake’s Song”–it’s pretty heavy on the bass and drum for a Decemberists song, and I wish I had a live recording.

The energy in the room was superintense when they played this, and Jenny Conlee, Chris Funk, and their guest violinist were all on drums, über-synchronized and pretty badass.  And the entire audience was singing, which was also pretty awesome. Even though the lyrics are pretty intense. Also you can hear us talking in some of them…sorry about that.

Enough rambling, I know you want your videos:

“Down By the Water”


“The Engine Driver”

“This is Why We Fight”

“A Cautionary Song” (Sorry the quality is terrible.  I passed the camera to Dan to record because I was right in the front trying to take pictures to send to my friend Colin, who, as I told him, is “my second favorite Colin M.” They were literally six inches from us.)

“June Hymn”

“June Hymn” definitely has to be one of my new favorites. All videos courtesy of Dan Conroy’s iPhone.

Stay warm and dry! Coming next week, maybe some summery tunes to bring us out of this winter rut?

Reese

*http://thephoenix.com/boston/music/114581-how-the-decemberists-ruined-indie-rock/

Join the conversation! 3 Comments

  1. Dude, that Phoenix link, the article about the Decemberists, is totally ignorant, and his self-deprecating jokes don’t excuse how dumb he sounds. Also, that concert sounds amazing, I’m bummed I missed it.

    Reply
  2. […] It’s been a busy Wednesday, but I’ve finally stolen the videos from the US Royalty show off of iPhone Dan’s iPhone.  Luckily, I managed to not sing along in the background, cover the camera, or film the entire thing in the wrong format! I’m getting better at working with these newfangled technologies.  Anyways, the show: Brighton Music Hall (nee Harper’s Ferry) was a pretty good venue for this sort of show.  It wasn’t packed, but there was a good amount of people there, and since the space was so big, nobody was crowding or jostled.  Also, since we are dorky and got there before doors opened, we got a prime spot right up front (I am a wee person, and it is difficult for me to see from behind normal height people.  For more information on this topic, see:  the Decemberists concert). […]

    Reply
  3. Greetings! Very helpful advice in this particular article!
    It is the little changes which will make the most significant changes.
    Thanks for sharing!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Category

Uncategorized

Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,