[tweetmeme source= “bucentral” only_single=false]

Music may be able to live forever, but bands certainly cannot. That’s why it’s always a painful inevitability whenever a band calls it quits.

Within the past week, word broke out that many of the indie world’s favorites are officially no more. Cue massive amounts of hipsters bawling their eyes out.

First up to bat, LCD Soundsystem!

The dance-punk band’s frontman, James Murphy, has spoken much about a looming end for the past several years, but nothing was official until the band posted a statement on their website on Saturday. They’ll be playing their final show at Madison Square Garden on April 2nd, which works out for me since I’m already going to be in NYC that weekend!

Considering how I saw them twice within the span of four days last September, it’s kind of obvious that my appreciation for their music knows no bounds. I legitimately refer to them as my favorite band, with Robyn getting the title of favorite artist. While it saddens me that they’ll no longer be making new music, I already came to terms with the loss late last year when I thought they were already kaput.

Here’s perennial favorite, “All My Friends.” I see it as the anthem of our generation. Do you?

Next up, The White Stripes!

The rock duo composed of Jack White and Meg White put out a statement on their website that they dissolved the band to “preserve what is beautiful and special about the band and have it stay that way.” While never a genuine fan of the band, I certainly appreciated hits like “Seven Nation Army” and “We’re Going To Be Friends.” I don’t have much else to say about the band’s breakup, but I’m sure it’s impacting many a BU student. Here’s the memorable Michel Gondry-directed music video for “Fell in Love with a Girl.”

The third group that has supposedly broken up in the past week is……*drumroll*….Gorillaz? No official statement yet, but the Internet is rife with speculation. For now it should only be treated as a rumor, but their recent tour that hit Agganis Arena last fall may have possibly been their last.

Join the conversation! 1 Comment

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by BU Central, Josh Crampsey. Josh Crampsey said: Tragedies Come in Threes: Did your favorite band survive the past week? « BU Central http://bit.ly/ey9Umn (my new post for the week) […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Category

Uncategorized

Tags

, , , , , , , ,