[tweetmeme source=”bucentral” only_single=false]Hia guys and gals,

Here is a riddle for you: What do Michael Jackson, Bruce Willis, Barbra Streisand, David Bowie, and Clint Eastwood have in common?
A: They are all the central theme for some of my favorite songs!

This week, I want to try something new: instead of just picking any random song from my library, I figure a little structure is necessary. So the theme for this blog will be Random Celebrity Tribute Songs!

Here is a list (in no particular order) of some of my favorite random celebrity tribute songs:

1) Duck Sauce – Barbra Streisand
Duck Sauce is a DJ duo made up of A-Trak and Armand Van Helden. This song is their biggest hit, at one point reaching #1 on the chart for its genre.

2) The Scofflaws – William Shatner
Apparently the Scofflaws were Trekkies! They decided to write a whole song about Mr. Shatner and his role as Captain James Kirk.

3) Mr. Oizo – Bruce Willis is Dead
No, he’s not really dead, but this guy decided to write a song ahead of time. I guess he wanted to be prepared when the occasion arises? Mr. Oizo is one of my favorite musicians (I actually had the chance to see him in NYC last weekend. He was on the dance floor while the opening band played, and I got to dance rigth next to him – one of the best shows I’ve ever been to ever!), and I find this song to be super catchy. Although, I think it would be better without that guy going “WOOOOOooo’ all the freaking time….

4) Flight of the Conchords Bowie
Since Jemain and Brett talk alot about Bowie in space, I think this song is probably about David Bowie’s “Space Oddity.” If have ever heard the Flight of the Conchords before, you know how hilarious they are. This one is just as strange and funny as any other!

5) Boys Noize – This is Michael Jackson  + Cocotte
More like an intro to another song, but close enough. I don’t know what it is about these DJs, but

6) Gorilliaz – Clint Eastwood
So alright, no actual mention of Clint Eastwood in the song, but I’m sure you can relate it to him somehow. I just really love this song.

mmkay then, enjoy! ‘Til next time!
– Tim

Leave a Reply

Category

Uncategorized

Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,