[tweetmeme source=”bucentral” only_single=false]

You ever have a song that you just absolutely love listening to, but really don’t know what’s going on with the lyrics? Actually, in this particular case, I think the lyrics are about a girl who commits suicide (“16 candles down the drain”), but honestly, the song really isn’t a lyrical masterpiece. Also, I’m a Math and Comp Sci. major, so lyrical analysis really isn’t my strong suit. In fact, I love many of the band Sponge’s songs, with my one complaint about them being that they really could have used some help with lyric writing, since unless I’m missing something really subtle, they sound like lyrics I could have written, and then discarded after realizing how bad they were. Regardless, I love listening to their songs, and kind of not pay attention to what the lyrics are, filling it in with my own thoughts. Also, the video is totally 90s and singer creeps me out, but looking past that you get a good song! Anyways, check out this song, “Molly”, by Sponge:

 

Leave a Reply

Latest Posts By drewbarbs

Category

Uncategorized