March 2, 2011

One down, two to go

[tweetmeme source=”bucentral” only_single=false]

It’s been a busy Wednesday, but I’ve finally stolen the videos from the US Royalty show off of iPhone Dan’s iPhone.  Luckily, I managed to not sing along in the background, cover the camera, or film the entire thing in the wrong format! I’m getting better at working with these newfangled technologies.  Anyways, the show:
Brighton Music Hall (nee Harper’s Ferry) was a pretty good venue for this sort of show.  It wasn’t packed, but there was a good amount of people there, and since the space was so big, nobody was crowding or jostled.  Also, since we are dorky and got there before doors opened, we got a prime spot right up front (I am a wee person, and it is difficult for me to see from behind normal height people.  For more information on this topic, see:  the Decemberists concert).

I’d never seen US Royalty live, and to be honest, the album–MIЯRORS–doesn’t do them justice.  They sound great on it, but when they’re 8 feet from your face and totally rocking out on the tambourine (10 points), the sounds feel more real (does that make sense? Supposedly I’m an English major. We’ll see) and their energy translates really well into a live show.

John Thornley (lead), who recently shaved an epic Fleet-Foxes-esque beard, has a great voice for the music they play; he’s got a good range and the right balance of mellow and resonant for their sort of rolling-and-smooth-yet-energetic sound. Also, he rocked a tambourine like his life depended on it, which is all sorts of awesome.

The bassist, Jacob Michael, was too far away for me to see most of the time, but had a very mellow air about himself.  Generally, my ear for bass kind of goes in and out during a song, but Michael stayed solid and consistent. And wore a great hat.

They had a very melancholy-looking keyboardist, whose name isn’t anywhere I can find.  But not melancholy in a bad way.  He was just very focused looking.  You’ll see it in the videos.  He’s totally in it.  And very melancholy looking.

Finally–drummers Luke and Amos Adams.  Some of the cleanest, most fitting drumming I’ve heard in a while.  I don’t know anything about drums, but they had both a set and some hand-drums (bongos? I really have no idea).  Usually I’m not a drums type of girl; I like drums (and drummers) but I tend to hear guitar more.  Nicely-vested Adams and his white-shirted brother, however, definitely dominate the sound more than your average drummers and kind of finish things off cleanly and nicely.

Video time? Okay.

“Fool to Love (Like I Do)”: Tambourine.  Two of them. I’m in love.

“Monte Carlo”: Especially strong on the drums. And maracas! Maracas! It’s too good. Actually, everything is really strong here.  Especially the “aaaaaayyyyyy ohhhhhh aaaaaayyyyy oohhhhhhh” part.

“Equestrian”: Please note melancholy keyboardist. They really brought it at the end–stellar on all counts.

Also, they were all dressed really well and they’re all ridiculously good-looking.  Just sayin’.
Coming next week: The Low Anthem, Part 1.  And maybe some other stuff.
Happy Wednesday!

-Reese

Join the conversation! 1 Comment

  1. Usually I do not learn article on blogs, however I wish to say that this write-up very forced
    me to try and do it! Your writing taste has been amazed me.
    Thank you, very nice article.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Category

Uncategorized

Tags

, , , , , ,