It’s happened again. Not only do I have a particular song stuck on repeat in my head, but just a lyric or two from it keep popping in my head. I’ve recently rediscovered my love for Paul Simon’s album Concert in the Park, recorded in Central Park on August 15, 1991. This record is chock full of awesome performances, a few of my favorites include “You can call me Al”, “I know what I know”, and the song stuck in my head as of now: “Graceland”. I guess I’m kind of cheesy in that whenever I’m taking the bus trip home from Boston to New York for a break, I always have a couple of songs on my playlist that kind of remind me of home. This is one of them, with the following lyrics really resonating in my mind:

“There is a girl in New York City
Who calls herself the human trampoline
And sometimes when I’m falling, flying
Or tumbling in turmoil I say
Oh, so this is what she means
She means we’re bouncing into Graceland”

Something about that verse just makes me smile every time I hear it, and the response the mention of New York City gets from the crowd at this performance is just awesome. Check it out, you’ll love it:

Leave a Reply

Latest Posts By drewbarbs

Category

Uncategorized