March 10, 2011

Spring Break!

To all of you that don’t have class on Friday’s happy Spring Break. Obviously Spring Break makes me think of one thing and one thing only, summer. So I decided to put together a little playlist of songs that remind me of summer to kick off Spring Break 2011 (I really think this is the year I make it to “Girls Gone Wild: Hairy Chest Edition”).

1. The B-52’s – Rock Lobster

Yea I’ve decided every playlist I ever make needs to have the appropriate B-52’s song for the topic. As a pale young gentleman nothing says summer like a good sunburn and Fred Schneider’s ridiculous singing voice. Hopefully this year I’ll remember my SPF 500 though.

2. Art Brut – Moving To LA

I first saw Art Brut in 100 degree heat at the Siren Music Festival in Coney Island so they’ll forever be a summer band in my mind. In this tune Eddie Argos complains about the British weather and talks about moving to LA something all of us Bostonites can relate to. I hope I get the chance to strip naked to the waist and ride off into the sunset on a motor cycle one.

3. Belle & Sebastian – Another Sunny Day

Belle & Sebastian are just lovely aren’t they? This upbeat little diddy always makes me smile.

4. Snoop Dogg – Gin and Juice

Ok so any West Coast rap reminds me of summer but this Snoop Dogg track has been a mainstay in my summer playlists for years and years now.

5.

These West Palm Beach, Florida rockers have an awesome song and video combination with their hit “Swim”. Of course the summer connections are obvious, I don’t know about you but swimming is a summer only activity, but my favorite part is the music video however I don’t think I’ll be able to watch a Disney movie from the same perspective ever again.

Leave a Reply

Category

Uncategorized