September 13, 2011

Summer Recap

[tweetmeme source=”bucentral” only_single=false]

Hey there!

I hope you’re settling into your fall routines nicely! I know I definitely love the fact that I have an organized schedule come every September;  however, I’m sure that you, like me, miss the indefiniteness of the summer a whole lot once the school year starts.  Since finals last May, I pretty much crammed my days full of as many live shows as possible…so today, to pay homage to the lovely (and sadly gone) days of summer, I’m just going to post some samplings of who I heard and saw over the past four months.

NEWPORT FOLK FESTIVAL


This just needs to be here.  It’s not like I sat in the audience with my jaw hanging open not breathing or anything. No, but really. These kids are not even in high school. What. (PS22 Chorus performs Adele’s “Rolling in the Deep”)


Middle Brother (composed of the frontmen of Deer Tick, Dawes, and Delta Spirit) performed quite the set at NFF…basically, their entire repertoire. iPhone Dan thinks I should post different songs, but I like this one.  Really, they were all great, and they have an awesome range of mellow to upbeat, so if you’re interested, check out their page. (Middle Brother, “Million Dollar Bill”)

VIKESH KAPOOR FEAT. MR. SISTER (LILYPAD LOUNGE)


Vikesh Kapoor, a BU grad (COM ’09), is pretty popular in the Boston area.  He’s been written up in BU Today and the Phoenix, and in 2010 he was nominated as one of Boston’s Best Folk Artists.  “Willy Robbins” is one of those great story-telling songs, where you’re listening as much to the music as you are to the lyrics.


You’ve heard me gush about Mr. Sister (Amelia Emmet) before, and I was lucky enough to see her again in August.  This is my favorite song of hers, from her album O, Sinister Force: “Hard Love”. So. Good.

That’s all for now, I think.  Next week: …we’ll see.  I had a plan, and then I realized my next show isn’t until next Thursday.  It’ll be a surprise.  Happy Tuesday!

Reese

Leave a Reply

Category

Uncategorized

Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,