Okay all you blog-readers out there, I’m about to change things up a bit down here at BU Central. As you may know, I’ve recently become a bittt of a country fan — don’t judge! Yes, it’s true you don’t hear that too much in a city like Boston, but I’m telling you, at least give it a chance :]

I don’t know why, but there’s just something about Darius Rucker’s voice that gets me everytime. Not ringing a bell? He’s known for his lead vocals in the classic 90’s rock/pop/country band Hootie and the Blowfish (“Only Wanna Be With You,” “Hold my Hand”). The band actually got together when a band-member-to-be heard Rucker singing in the dorm showers as a college freshman, so don’t hold back just because you think your Warren floormates might not want to hear you – you never know, it could lead to a 16x multi-platinum album, like theirs! Rucker’s launched a solo country career since then and I’m personally loving it. I’m a big fan of anyone who can appreciate the little things in life, like he does in the two feel-good songs below.

 

 

 

 

 

 

If you’re feelin the country after that, I would definitely recommend these if you haven’t heard/seen them (or even if you have!) :

Take a Back RoadRodney Atkins

Crazy GirlEli Young Band

Chicken FriedZac Brown Band

If you’re not into it, go ahead and flip back to MTVU ;]  To each his own, right?

❤ Katie

Join the conversation! 1 Comment

  1. I’m a fan of almost every type of music, and country is definitely one of them! I guess that makes sense my being from Maine and all, but you’re right, people don’t always give country music a chance. It’s not the old timey twangy stuff it used to be! It’s more rock than twang these days and I love that. Jason Aldean, Dierks Bentley, Brad Paisley, Rascal Flatts, Lady Antebellum… I could go on and on!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Latest Posts By katieglynn

Category

Uncategorized

Tags

, , , , ,