[tweetmeme source= “bucentral” only_single=false]

Hope the semester is going great for everybody out there. It’s Monday evening, so that means it’s time to introduce y’all to some new bands!

First up is a band that’s not so new to 2012, but just got some major exposure last week when a track was featured in last week’s episode of the British teen series, Skins. I now present Apparat.

Apparat ain’t so easy to place into one genre, but Electronic Ambience is probably my best guess. “Black Water” made me tear up for a few days and it’s pretty much impossible to regard this song as anything other than perfection.


Next up, a band that I originally wrote my first blog post about over a year ago. Yellow Ostrich!

Yellow Ostrich can best be classified as quirky indie-rock with a pop sensibility. Their first album was a joy to listen to and I’m expecting the same of their forthcoming second album, Strange Land, which is expected to be out in early March. I’m love love loving their newly-released single “Marathon Runner” and I’m sure y’all will too.

Yellow Ostrich will actually be hitting up Boston on March 3rd at Great Scott. Sadly the show is 21+, keeping away my 20-year-old self, but I’m sure it’ll be fantastic. More details can be found here.

Hope y’all like tonight’s selections. See ya next week!

Josh

Leave a Reply

Category

Uncategorized

Tags

, , , , , , ,