I’m sure most of you–and by most I mean 114 million of you–tuned into this year’s annual Superbowl and the most exciting halftime show since Janet Jackson’s wardrobe malfunction. Who could have possibly imagined Madonna taking stage with Nicki Minaj, Cee-lo Green, LMFAO, and M.I.A.? I thought the performance was awesome, but my opinions are probably clouded by overwhelming nostalgia for the 80s (even though I was born in the 90s)  and my love for artist comebacks. Aside all the chatter about Madonna’s sugar-coated performance and her surprisingly fit, middle-aged body, another stage partner stole the after-show buzz  when she slipped in the s-word during her performance and flipped millions of viewers the bird. British phenom and wild-child M.I.A. couldn’t have picked a better time to draw attention to herself; she recently dropped a new single and has another album in the works. Talk about a risky PR strategy.

Her newest video, Bad Girls, has already achieved over 1.8 million views since its release 5 days ago and was either marked as empowering for women of Middle Eastern culture and aesthetically refreshing by some or controversial by others. If you’ve ever listened to an M.I.A. song or watched her live, you know that “controversial” is her middle and I’m pretty sure she wouldn’t have it any other way.

Check out her video for Bad Girls:

Leave a Reply

Category

Uncategorized

Tags

, ,