March 1, 2012

Guilty Pleasure

HAPPY MARCH!!! One more week until Spring Break 🙂

Okay so I don’t know if anyone else remembers, but every Sunday evening when I was younger my whole family would sit down and watch the TV show American Dreams on NBC. The show is set to a soundtrack of music from the sixties and is all about a family in Philadelphia dealing with the issues of the time. The show focuses on Meg, a teenager who dances on the popular television show American Bandstand hosted by Dick Clark. Every episode never fails to supply the watcher with a plethora of classic oldies songs that sound as good as ever.

I have been going back and watching this show online (I like rewatching TV shows…) and no matter if I realize it or not I always find myself singing along to all of the old songs. At times it worries me a bit. This shows is set over 5o years ago and I, a 19-year-old, know all of the words to the songs. Does that mean that in 30 years my children are going to know all the words to Lil’ Wayne and Lady Gaga’s songs? slightly disturbing…

Anyways, I thought that this week I would share with you some of my favorite songs that have appeared on the recent shows that I have watched!

Wishin’ and Hopin’- Dusty Springfield

 

I want to Hold Your Hand- The Beatles

 

My Boyfriend’s Back- The Angels

 

Enjoy and I hope to see all of you at LIVE: Titus Andronicus this Friday!!!

Until next time!

xoxo Lanie

Leave a Reply

Latest Posts By laniepadbury

Category

Uncategorized