[tweetmeme source= “bucentral” only_single=false]

Over the past couple weeks, NYC-based indie-folk trio Town Hall has quickly become one of my favorite bands of the moment and it’s about time I expose all y’all to their brilliance. Town Hall puts their own twist on the male-female vocalist formula and consistently produces some of the best music I’ve heard in months. No lie.

The band first captured my attention when their folksy take on the Ja Rule/Ashanti classic, “Always on Time,” hit the web a couple months back. Aside from me being a sucker for a good cover, I was instantly hooked on their immaculate harmonies and immediately sought out every track they’d ever released online.

After obsessing over every track on their EP, Sticky Notes & Paper Scraps, for several weeks, I watched the band’s newly-released music video for “Good Boy” and fell deeper in love. While lacking in the harmonies that initially drew me to the band, the track still tells a great narrative about a neighborhood hellion.

Just yesterday the band celebrated the official release of debut album Roots & Bells with a show at NYC’s Webster Hall. As tempted as I was to make the trek down, I resisted and now I’m patiently waiting for the band to make their return to Boston some time this summer. Apparently I missed out on them playing Great Scott in Allston just a couple weeks back, an error on my part that I’ve since grieved.

Be sure to like the band on their Facebook page, follow them on Twitter, or purchase their album on Bandcamp. They deserve all your love. They really do.

Recommended Tracks: The soaring “Mary A. Longden” and decidedly more somber “Charlie”

Have a great week everybody! The semester is actually almost over. Like, forrealz.

-Josh

Leave a Reply

Category

Uncategorized

Tags

, , , ,