My past few posts have highlighted some of my favorite guitarists, but I think its important to listen to performers on all instruments. One of my favorite musicians is Bruce Hornsby, a singer/ pianist who has played with the likes of the Grateful Dead, Ricky Skaggs, Pat Metheny , Bela Fleck, and many more. He also produced several hits throughout the late 80s with his own band, The Range. You may well have heard his biggest hit, “The Way It Is”, in its original form, or as sampled by the recently “hologramed” Tupac in his song “Changes“. Every time I find a new Hornsby performance, I’m blown away. He is an artist who never plays a song the same way twice, every performance is a unique piece of music.

This is the first live recording I saw of him and, despite its lackluster audio quality,  instantly made me a fan. While I included this video in a post of mine a while back, I’d be remiss if I didn’t include it here. While the whole thing is amazing,  the part from ~2:40-3:35 is one of my absolute favorite musical moments:

Also check out a few more awesome performances of his:

Finally, I recently came across this video on a guitar forum I frequent, and while I am not as into heavy music as I was in my high school days, one cannot deny the pure intensity that is this performance

Leave a Reply

Latest Posts By drewbarbs

Category

Uncategorized

Tags

, , ,