Even when I was a teen, I was always yearning for the return of the classics from my generation and also took to referring to every past event as the “good ‘ol days” even if it was just one day since those good times had passed. Basically, I was born nostalgic. I’m the biggest comeback fan you’ve probably ever met and I will support any worthy artist trying to return to their former glory. With that said, I, as with a majority of people my age, will always refer to the music of my youth as classic no matter how cheesy it was. I mean, it’s music that me and my neighborhood friends grew up jammin’ to in front of the mirror with our makeshift hairbrush microphones in hand. At one point, we even went as far as having a block concert in the square of our apartment complex where each of us were members of a Backstreet Boys and/or Spice Girls cover band. If that doesn’t constitute a song/artist as a generation classic, then I don’t know what will.

Since I live in a perpetual state of nostalgia and have a throwback music day about once a week, I decided to start a series on this here blog titled “’90s Music Nostalgia”, and this week’s edition is R&B. Just as a precursor, some of these songs will be from the early ’00s. since the ’90s R&B style still kind of spilled over into the beginning of the new millennium. In addition, if you’ve been within 20 ft. of BU Central during any of my recent shifts, you’ve probably heard me blast a few of these on our amazing sound system. Without further to do, check out some of my favorite ’90s R&B classics below. If you have any other suggestions of artists that you think should have made this post,  please submit them in the comment box below. Stay tuned for my next ’90s Music Nostalgia post. I’m thinking Hip-Hop or Boy Band Edition.

Peace and love,

Sherelle

If I Ever Fall In Love (Acapella) – Shai

All My Life – K-Ci & JoJo

Where My Girls At – 702

Waterfalls – TLC

You Make Me Wanna – Usher

I Wanna Know – Joe

Too Close – Next

In My Bed – Dru Hill

Don’t Leave Me – Black Street

Stranger in My House – Tamia

Can’t Take My Eyes Off Of You -Lauryn Hill

Weak – SWV

I Care 4 U – Aaliyah

End of the Road – Boyz II Men

Where I Wanna Be – Donell Jones

Let’s Get Married – Jagged Edge

Leave a Reply

Category

Uncategorized

Tags

, , , , , , , , ,