[tweetmeme source=”bucentral” only_single=false] So I was reading Ayolah’s post about Perks of Being a Wallflower (and I totally agree, by the way. Like she said, it was fucking amazing!), and it inspired me to write a post about one of my favorite movies/movie soundtracks–Pirate Radio (aka The Boat That Rocked).

Quick history lesson:

In the 1960s, the United Kingdom’s radio, BBC Radio, did not play pop or rock music which resulted in many pirate radio stations. Pirate radio stations were ships anchored in international waters broadcasting music to the United Kingdom.

So, as you can probably guess, Pirate Radio is about a pirate radio station struggling against the British government, and so much of the music featured in the movie is rock and pop music from the 1960s. The soundtrack includes music by the Kinks, the Beach Boys, the Who, the Supremes, and more. If you enjoy the Beatles, the Rolling Stones, Dusty Springfield, and lots of other artists from the 1960s, then you’ll really enjoy this soundtrack. Aside from the music, the movie is so fantastic and funny and entertaining and you should definitely see it if you haven’t already!

Below are a few of my favorites from the movie, along with the rest of the soundtrack.

Enjoy!

Emily

The Beach Boys // Wouldn’t It Be Nice

The Kinks // Sunny Afternoon

The Kinks // All Day and All of the Night

The Supremes // The Happening

The Turtles // Elenore

Leave a Reply

About emilyrockwood

Hi! I'm a freshman at BU and I'm in CAS studying biology. I like pretty much any type of music, with the exception of heavy metal and country. I love watching horror movies, my favorite flowers are white lilies, and if I could be any animal, I'd be a cat.

Category

Uncategorized

Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,