When I came to BU, I had this strange idea that I would find some other student who loved The Fray as much as I do.

And when I say “love” The Fray, I actually mean I “FANGIRL” over The Fray like it’s my job. If you saw my Tumblr blog, you’d be amazed, I think.  I literally have every song they’ve released (and haven’t released)  in my Itunes library. I’ve seen my fair share of the YouTube videos and read every article about them. And I’m quite bothered about why they haven’t won a  Grammy yet (Trust me, they’ve been nominated a few times before) because it’s well overdue. But that’s a topic for another time. I haven’t found one single soul to share in my obsession over the angelic, raspy, low voice that Isaac Slade, the lead singer, was blessed to have. (I have found one hater though. Yes, I’m talking to you, Jesse.) When The Fray first came out, they were about style and substance and, thankfully, they haven’t changed one bit in the past ten years. Their musical style has grown while still maintaining its roots and the depth of their lyrics is deeper now than it has ever been.  Not to mention Stephen Chbosky, the author of The Perks of Being a Wallflower, (*cough cough* read my last blog post about Perks)  thinks they are “so great” and “passionate.” I wholeheartedly agree.

Anyway, in a last minute attempt to pull in fellow fangirls and fanboys for The Fray, I want to include my favorite songs by them and why I love them (and those four men) so dearly and shamelessly.

Till next time,

Ayolah

P.S. Guys, try not to judge me too hard. I just have a lot of feelings, alright? :p

“Trust Me”

Okay. THIS SONG. Where do I even start? In simple terms, it’s written about growing older and learning to deal with the difficulties that life throws your way. Cliche, yes, but, nonetheless, still really amazing. To be honest, this is probably one of the songs I find the most difficult to express my thoughts about. Its lyrics are deep and the second verse makes me want to bawl my eyes out. The melody of the song is something else too. Fragile, yet strong enough. The piano in the background goes perfectly with the sad tone of the song and the chorus is wonderful, too, but I trust that it doesn’t need to be explained. At any rate, I think everyone can relate to this song.

“Look After You”

Seriously, though. This is the most played song in my Itunes library. Just saying. I think this one is pretty self-explanatory, too, but if you must know, Isaac wrote this one for his wife. It’s from their first album, How to Save a Life. Good gosh, if a guy wrote a beautiful song like this for me, I’d probably marry them too.

“Never Say Never”

They actually released this song. It’s on the soundtrack for Transformers II: Revenge of the Fallen  and on their second album, The Fray. It’s a lovely song, but a bit sad as well. The song is about two people in a relationship that is on and off, seemingly falling in and out of love constantly. That’s great and all, but nevermind what the song is about. Do you hear that chorus??? It only has four words repeated (“Don’t let me go”) over its length, but damn. I love it to death. The desperate emotion in Isaac’s voice as he croons those four words over and over until the song ends is a feeling that resides deep in my heart and when he brings out that falsetto in the song’s final seconds, I melt into a puddle every time I hear it.

“Munich” from Scars and Stories

I just think this is a pretty, sweet song. The orchestra in the background is a nice complement to the lyrics.

“Be Still” from Scars and Stories

If you didn’t think “Munich” was all that great, then you, at least, have to agree that this song is absolutely beautiful. It’s a soft-spoken, genuine song meant to provide comfort when you’re feeling uncertain of where to go and what to do. To be honest, this song makes me want to go sob in the corner.

“Maps” (Orignally by The Yeah Yeah Yeahs) from Scars and Stories 

Any song that can throw in sleigh bells in the melody and it not be about Christmas is a favorite of mine. Plus, I really like this version more than the original, but, then again, I am a bit biased so…

“Hips Don’t Lie” (cover)

I literally laughed the entire time when I first heard this rendition of “Hips Don’t Lie” by Shakira. It’s silly and feisty, and it’s just another reason for me to love The Fray even more.

If you’re in the mood, check out their Reason EP. It features seven songs that are lovely and raw and incredible and…I could go on, but, yeah, just listen to it, and I think you’ll understand what I mean. 🙂

Leave a Reply

About bubezim

I'm a freshman and I write for BU Central's blog. Check out some of my posts because that would make me really, really, happy!

Category

Uncategorized

Tags

, , , , , ,