Well.

I don’t know about you all, but that Super Bowl halftime show from last night still has me overexcited like a little kid on Christmas morning. I’ve already re-watched it more times  than I’d like to admit and it has left me speechless and grinning like an idiot every single time. The performance was technologically and visually creative, but, best of all, Beyonce’s vocals were incredible, and like always, she sounded like a live studio recording. Quite possibly, one could think the halftime show was a “retort” to critics that did not like the fact that she lip-synced the National Anthem at the 2013 Presidential Inauguration Ceremony. Well, she sure showed them! And let’s not forget, the all-female band of musicians and dancers! I mean, can you say “female empowerment”! I was sitting on the edge of my seat before the show began and, after it, I was practically left a puddle on the ground because of the awesomeness that is Beyonce. I don’t care what the NFL

At first I had planned to dedicate this entire post to Queen Bey, but then I decided I’d instead give an overview of my favorite Super Bowl performances of all time and ultimately decided if Queen Bey did, in fact, have the best Super Bowl performance of all time. Keep in mind that I was not actually born when all of these shows happened – some of them I had to look up and watch.

So here they are, from the King of Pop to Queen Bey herself to the-singer-with-the-whole-unmentionable-nipple-slip-incident, these are some of the best Super Bowl performances of all time. What are yours?

1. Michael Jackson, 1993

2. Beyonce, 2013

3. Bruce Springsteen, 2009

4. U2, 2002

5. Prince, 2007

I couldn’t find the video on Youtube, but here is a link to an article with the video! http://www.globalpost.com/dispatches/globalpost-blogs/world-at-play/5-best-superbowl-halftime-shows-video

Honorable Mentions:

Janet Jackson, 2004

The Rolling Stones, 2006

Leave a Reply

About bubezim

I'm a freshman and I write for BU Central's blog. Check out some of my posts because that would make me really, really, happy!

Category

Uncategorized

Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,