Hooked on Phoenix
October 10, 2013

Hooked on Phoenix

Phoenix is always a good show.

I admit that I am incredibly biased because they are one of my favorite bands, but I am very serious. I have seen them three times in the past six months. I know, I know. That just seems excessive, but it means that I have more than enough evidence.

First of all, their stage presence is incredible. They never lack passion on stage and they get the entire crowd to feel it too. Also, their visuals are amazing. I am confident that they would be just as amazing without any lights or backdrops but they just add so much to the show. My favorite was the first-person video backdrop of a drive through Paris during “Love Like a Sunset Pt. 1.” It created so much emotion that the girl next to me started to cry. I probably would have cried too if I hadn’t been so in awe.

Screen shot 2013-10-11 at 2.29.39 PM

However, the best part of seeing Phoenix live is how unpredictable they are. When I saw them in August, I was prepared for a show exactly the same as the one I saw in May. I was so wrong. Okay, I was mostly wrong. They played most of the same songs from Wolfgang Amadeus Phoenix and Bankrupt! because that’s what the people expect, but they still surprised me by rearranging the setlist and playing different songs from the old, forgotten albums. It was the same way for last Tuesday, except this time I was ready to experience something entirely new.

Screen shot 2013-10-11 at 2.32.00 PM

The show was incredible. I made friends with the people dancing and singing with me, and every member of the band is so fascinating to watch on stage. Thomas Mars, the lead singer, seemed to be more off stage than on stage. He climbed onto the barrier for multiple songs, inciting tears and near-fainting spells all throughout the House of Blues.

For the finale, a reprise of “Entertainment,” he risked death by climbing onto the balconies and saying thank you to everyone before climbing back down on stage. His last gift to Boston was inviting anyone and everyone on stage to close out the show. No, I’m not kidding.

If this hasn’t been enough to convince you that Phoenix always puts on a good show, then maybe you’ll just have to experience it yourself, with my promise that you won’t regret it.

Leave a Reply

Category

Uncategorized

Tags

, , , , , , , ,