Artists to Watch: Royal Teeth
November 6, 2013

Artists to Watch: Royal Teeth

Back in September when I was given the opportunity to cover Boston Calling for BU Central, I knew absolutely none of the bands. But, while trying to learn about some of them before I went, I discovered one of my new favorite bands, the New Orleans-based pop-rock group, Royal Teeth.

Their song “Hold Me” instantly caught my attention. It has a dreamy background, highlighted by ukulele and a catchy drum beat. Before I knew it, I had listened to their entire discography on Spotify. Their mellow vibe makes it so easy to hit play and just sit back and relax to some good music.

ImageBoth of their albums, Act Naturally and Glow, have an electronic edge without being overpowering. They are still able to maintain their indie style while adding a bit of flare. Each album has a generous mix of upbeat pop songs like “We Can Glow,” and “Wild,” indie-soul tunes like “Heartbeats,” and even some more emotional ballads such as “Waiting For You.”

I literally CANNOT stop listening to this band and have listened to them constantly ever since Boston Calling. I enjoyed seeing them earlier this year so much that I’ve already scouted their upcoming concert schedule and will most definitely be attending their show at Paradise Rock Club on November 15th. They’re currently touring with headliner, The Mowgli’s, and X Ambassadors. So, if you get the chance this November, this is one band I would wholeheartedly recommend seeing live.

And, if none of that has you hooked, the singer has the dark mark tattooed on his forearm. Check.

Join the conversation! 1 Comment

  1. They opened for a concert I saw back in February, and they were fantastic with a great energy.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Category

Uncategorized

Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,