Drew Holcomb & Co. impress at recent BMH show

A couple of weekends ago I went to a show where there was no pushing, I stood first row, and the band directly in front of me was Drew Holcomb and the Neighbors. I first heard of this indie-folk band when I was watching an episode of How I Met Your Mother and their song “What Would I Do Without You” came on and I instantly fell in love.

To be honest, after that I forgot about them until I saw Brighton Music Hall tweet about them coming to Boston. As a spur of a moment kind of thing, I bought tickets to their show and it ended up the best 15 dollars I’ve ever spent on a show.

The band contains five members playing various instruments, ranging from banjo and shakers to bass and acoustic guitar. The main voices of their songs come from the married duo, Drew and Ellie Holcomb. I always knew the duo sang most of their songs together, but to see the chemistry between them in-person was inspiring. You could really tell that they loved their music as much as we did.

When they played their closing song “Nothing But Trouble”, they took their instruments and came into the audience to play. It was a concert experience I’ve never had before, but it was brilliant the way they made it feel as if we were all just around a campfire.

Their songs tell stories that they not only want to tell but that their audience wants to hear. Their latest album, Good Light, was written and inspired by their newborn daughter. Tracks that I would recommend from the album would be “The Wine We Drink”, “Nothing Like A Woman”, “Tennessee”, and my personal favorite “What Would I Do Without You.”

Leave a Reply

Category

Uncategorized

Tags

, , , , , , ,