Song of the Moment: "Coastin'" - Zoin I ft. K. Flay

Since I’m from California, I thought I would go back to my roots and present “Coastin’” by Zoin I ft. K. Flay as this week’s Song of the Moment. A couple days ago I got a text from a friend informing me that I should check this song out. I Googled the name and found out that Zoin I is a hip-hop duo from Oakland, CA. Upon clicking on their video to listen to “Coastin’”, I was expecting some hardcore rap. Instead, they opened with a piano tune and launched into the soft uplifting voice of K. Flay, a rapper from Illinois.

Zoin I reminds me a bit of Macklemore. However, this duo has been rapping about social issues and positive vibes since 1997. Their song “Coastin’” comes from the album The Take Over, which was released in 2009. You can check out more of their music at their website.

Leave a Reply

Category

Uncategorized

Tags

, , , , , , , ,